Insurance and Reinsurance Law Firm New Jersey

Insurance & Reinsurance

The 21st century has ushered in a new era of opportunities and risks for the insurance industry. New legislation at the federal level, corporate globalization, corporate mergers and acquisitions, the proliferation of technology, terrorism, and uncertainties in global stability all combine to make risk management one of the most challenging issues of the present day.

Our attorneys serve as legal counsel for some of the nation's largest and best-known insurance and reinsurance companies. We vigorously represent our clients’ interests in every aspect of their business operations and in a wide variety of insurance coverage and reinsurance claims and litigation.

Insurance


The firm's Insurance Coverage Group is in the industry forefront with respect to matters involving property, commercial casualty, life, health, general liability, professional liability, directors’ & officers' liability, pollution liability, auto coverage, personal lines and other specialized coverages. We regularly counsel clients on insurance coverage issues, draft policy forms, investigate claims and represent insurers in coverage and bad faith actions in federal and state courts. In addition, we handle a wide variety of administrative matters and litigation involving agents and brokers. Our attorneys also provide advice and representation to insurers on regulatory issues, including product development, policy wording, rating applications, insurance company formations and insolvency.

Working closely with management and in-house legal staff, we have utilized our extensive experience and in-depth understanding of coverage issues and policy interpretation to achieve very favorable outcomes for our clients. We are responsible for a number of important pro-insurer appellate precedents, which have defined the legal contours of coverage on some of the industry’s most significant and cutting-edge issues.

Reinsurance


Reinsurance disputes are typically complex and involve unique, high-stakes issues. We thoroughly understand the multi-faceted aspects of these cases through our long and extensive representation of ceding and assuming companies, as well as intermediaries. Our clients appreciate our in-depth knowledge of their legal, business, financial and reinsurance accounting issues, and express their confidence by entrusting us with some of their most significant matters.

Our wealth of experience in the litigation, arbitration and mediation of reinsurance disputes encompasses ceded and assumed reinsurance of every type and a broad spectrum of underlying claims. We routinely provide counseling and coverage advice on the negotiation, wording and interpretation of reinsurance contracts and on the negotiation and drafting of commutation agreements. We also have handled innumerable arbitrations, litigations and mediations that have resulted in very favorable outcomes for our clients. 

The 21st century has ushered in a new era of opportunities and risks for the insurance industry. New legislation at the federal level, corporate globalization, corporate mergers and acquisitions, the proliferation of technology, terrorism, and uncertainties in global stability all combine to make risk management one of the most challenging issues of the present day.

Our attorneys serve as legal counsel for some of the nation's largest and best-known insurance and reinsurance companies. We vigorously represent our clients’ interests in every aspect of their business operations and in a wide variety of insurance coverage and reinsurance claims and litigation.

Members

David J. D'Aloia

David J. D'Aloia
Member
t: 973-645-4805
ddaloia@saiber.com

Jennine DiSomma

Jennine DiSomma
Member
t: 973-645-4803
jdisomma@saiber.com

Jennifer R. O’Connor

Jennifer R. O’Connor
Member
t: 973-622-3697
joconnor@saiber.com

Robert L. Ritter

Robert L. Ritter
Member
t: 973-232-0615
rritter@saiber.com

Joan M. Schwab

Joan M. Schwab
Member
t: 973-645-4829
jschwab@saiber.com

Lisa C. Wood

Lisa C. Wood
Member
t: 973-622-3689
lwood@saiber.com

Counsel

Gregory T. Dennison

Gregory T. Dennison
Counsel
t: 973-645-4808
gdennison@saiber.com

David M.  Farkouh

David M. Farkouh
Counsel
t: 973-622-3694
dfarkouh@saiber.com

Krystal D. Riebesell

Krystal D. Riebesell
Counsel
t: 973-645-4822
kriebesell@saiber.com

Amy K. Smith

Amy K. Smith
Counsel
t: 973-845-7718
asmith@saiber.com

Associates

Alexander C. Banzhaf

Alexander C. Banzhaf
Associate
t: 973-232-0617
abanzhaf@saiber.com

Vincent C. Cirilli

Vincent C. Cirilli
Associate
t: 973-622-3454
vcirilli@saiber.com

Zinnia Faruque

Zinnia Faruque
Associate
t: 973-232-0626
zfaruque@saiber.com

Paola Ciappina Hemsley

Paola Ciappina Hemsley
Associate
t: 973.645.4812
phemsley@saiber.com

Piel A. Lora

Piel A. Lora
Associate
t: 973-645-4809
plora@saiber.com

Ryan E. San George

Ryan E. San George
Associate
t: 973-845-7728
rsangeorge@saiber.com